Wave at Saturn - July 19
Who wants to be in the world’s biggest class picture?

Cassini will be taking a photo of Earth from Saturn 900 Million miles away July 19. Cassini will take the Earth part of the mosaic at 2:27 p.m. PDT (5:27 p.m. EDT or 21:27 UTC) and end about 15 minutes later, all while Saturn is eclipsing the sun from Cassini’s point of view.

According to Jane Houston Jones as NASA:
Cassini’s image of Earth will be just 1.5 pixels wide, with the illuminated part of Earth less than a pixel, so the resulting mosaic will not actually show people or the continents. But if you are on the sunlit side of Earth at the time – North America and part of the Atlantic Ocean — you are in the picture. The western part of Africa and Europe will also be facing Cassini’s cameras, but they will be dark.

More info
Approximate location of Saturn in various cities

blog comments powered by Disqus